Due to severe drought conditions, the burn ban has been extended. Check on-line daily to see if the ban has been lifted.

The annual burn ban in 54 Georgia counties is in effect from May 1 through September 30 each year. Why is the burning ban needed? The Georgia EPD imposes a ban on outdoor burning to comply with Federal Clean Air Regulations.  During the summer months in Georgia, the ozone in the air we breathe can reach unhealthy levels.  The Georgia EPD has identified open burning as a significant contributor of the pollutants that form ozone.  Consequently, open burning in metro Atlanta and larger counties must be restricted during the summer months. How can the Georgia Forestry Commission (GFC) help me determine whether I can burn or not? The Georgia Forestry Commission’s on-line burn permit system and 1-877-OK2-BURN phone system will inform by county whether or not you can burn or you can call your local GFC office. or fire department. The Open Burning Ban prohibits citizens and businesses from burning yard and land-clearing debris. This rule is in addition to the year-round state ban on the burning of household garbage.

Bartow County is  included in the ban – see the appropriate EPD District1Office phone numbers below:

· Mountain District Office: 770-387-4900 Bartow, Catoosa, Chattooga, Cherokee, Cobb, Dawson, Floyd, Forsyth, Gordon, Haralson, Lumpkin, Paulding, Pickens, Polk, Walker counties.

Web Reference Links:

     http://www.gfc.state.ga.us/online-permits/index.cfm http://www.georgiaair.org/airpermit/html/planningsupport/openburning/burnban.htm